Is it enough to format the phone before selling it?  The answer is no and you need to take this step so you don’t regret it
October 8, 2023

Is it enough to format the phone before selling it? The answer is no and you need to take this step so you don’t regret it

Nowadays it is common knowledge that when you dispose of a mobile phone, you need to format it so that your personal data is erased. This way, after formatting, you can lend or sell your device without any fear. This is a mistake! It’s not enough to make sure the contents of your phone are inaccessible. Of course the mobile phone needs to be formatted before selling it, but after that you need to take additional preventative measures.

In times when it is common to buy and sell refurbished or refurbished cell phones, formatting has become essential before making this type of transaction. In fact, if you want to know how to format an existing smartphone, we will explain it to you here How to do a factory reset. The secret that few users know is that even if you format your device, the “deleted” information remains on your device.

When you delete a file on a digital device, you’re not actually deleting it, you’re disabling access to it and bypassing its overwrite protection. So, this way, when you delete files on the device, what you’re actually doing is deleting its shortcut, simple as that. This content is not easily accessible and the average user wouldn’t know how to do it, but your data still won’t be fully protected if you don’t do anything before formatting.

Yes, it might be confusing that all your life you thought the contents completely disappeared when you hit the “Delete” button or, at most, in applications like Gallery, the files disappeared after you deleted the photo or video from the temporary trash. But that’s not the case, because the phone protocol that implements it doesn’t work that way, and they were never deleted, those files simply disappeared from your sight.

– The secret to overwriting files

Formatting is still a crucial step so that no one can easily access your data, so when you want to get rid of a cell phone, don’t hesitate to format it to prevent easy access to your contents. But then you have to protect your personal contents by filling your phone’s memory with less relevant contents, which will force your cell phone’s memory to replace new contents with old ones.

As for this type of overwriting procedure to completely prevent access to your phone’s files, there are specific applications in application stores that have the task of filling your mobile phone’s memory with unreadable binary codes, like the application we have explained years ago in this lesson below and you can download it from this link

However, overwriting can be easily done by downloading large files to your mobile phone that have no special value for you, such as heavy video games or similar. The important thing, above all, is to fill the storage space again with random files and delete them to replace personal files that you don’t want to recover.

This way you will not have to worry in any way that the personal contents of your smartphone will end up in unknown hands, since the overwriting process cannot be reversed and no one will be able to recover and access the overwritten files after deleting them. So don’t forget: after formatting your phone, fill the memory again to overwrite the formatted files!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *